Home

Welcome to the Caribou Ungava web site!

 

Caribou Ungava is a large research program focused on the ecology of migratory caribou and their predators in the Quebec-Labrador peninsula in a context of climate change and anthropogenic disturbances. The successful completion of a first phase of research (2009-2014), lead us to undertake a second phase of work (2015-2020) which aims at quantifying the factors governing the population dynamics and space use of this large mammal. In addition, the ecology of the caribou’s main predators (grey wolf and black bear) is a new component that will be studied during this second phase. Several researchers from six universities and two governmental organisations will conduct and supervise the numerous research projects planned. The second phase will be accomplished through tight collaboration with our many private and public stakeholders who value the conservation of caribou. 

 

 

News

Successful fieldwork at Deception Bay

In summer 2018, we carried out 3 field trips to Deception Bay (Nunavik) as part of the research project on the consequences of shrub densification on the food resources of migratory caribou. These trips allowed us to collect multiple leaf samples throughout the growing season in order to analyze their chemical composition (nitrogen, carbon, phenols and fibre) and digestibility. We have also collected the data taken automatically by the various sensors installed in the experimental plots (temperature, humidity and local NDVI sensors). Finally, we took advantage of these stays to collaborate on...

+ learn more

Predator work 2018

2018 has been quite a busy year in terms of field work on caribou predators. Our team conducted two field trips, in the spring and fall, to the calving area of the migratory caribou in Quebec and Labrador. These trips led to the capture of 33 black bears, each sampled for hair, blood and plasma that will be used to document the feeding habits of bears. We took advantage of the June work in northern Quebec to equip two black bears with camera collars. The videos recorded from June to October, will be analyzed in the coming months and will hopefully enable us to document at fine scale the...

+ learn more

Louis-Edmond Hamelin prize awarded to a Caribou Ungava student

The annual symposium of the Centre for northern studies was held on the 15th and 16th february 2018, at the Université de Sherbrooke. During this event, Michaël Bonin, a doctoral student, received the Louis-Edmond Hamelin prize for the best oral presentation of the symposium. Congratulations to Michaël for his presentation about the contribution of migratory caribou to the diets of gray wolves and black bears.   (Michaël Bonin, on the left)

+ learn more

Accueil

Bienvenue sur le site web de Caribou Ungava!

 

Caribou Ungava est un vaste programme de recherche portant sur l’écologie des populations de caribous migrateurs et leurs prédateurs au Québec-Labrador dans un contexte de changements climatiques et anthropiques. À la suite d’une première phase de recherche complétée (2009-2014), nous entreprenons une deuxième phase de travaux (2015-2020) qui visent à quantifier les facteurs qui déterminent la dynamique de population et l'utilisation de l'espace de ce grand mammifère. De plus, un nouveau volet s’ajoute au programme de recherche qui s’intéressera à l’écologie des principaux prédateurs (loup gris et ours noir) du caribou. Les recherches seront réalisées sous la supervision de nombreux chercheurs spécialistes provenant de six universités et deux organismes gouvernementaux. Cette deuxième phase du programme de recherche sera accomplie avec la collaboration de nombreux partenaires privés et publics qui ont tous à cœur la conservation du caribou migrateur.

 

 

Nouvelles

Des travaux de terrain fructueux à la Baie Déception

Au cours de l’été 2018, nous avons effectué 3 séjours de terrain à la Baie Déception (Nunavik) dans le cadre du projet de recherche portant sur les conséquences de la densification arbustive sur les ressources alimentaires du caribou migrateur. Ces travaux ont permis la récolte ponctuelle d’échantillons foliaires sur toute la durée de la saison de croissance dans le but d’analyser leur composition chimique (azote, carbone, phénols et fibre) et leur digestibilité. Nous avons également récupéré les données prises de façon automatique par les différentes sondes installées dans le...

>>en savoir plus

Travaux sur les prédateurs 2018

2018 a été une année occupée en termes de travaux sur les prédateurs du caribou. Notre équipe a réalisé 2 sorties terrain, au printemps et à l’automne, sur les aires de mise bas du caribou migrateur au Québec et au Labrador. Ces sorties ont permis la capture de 33 ours noirs, chacun échantillonné pour du poil, du sang et du plasma qui nous serviront à documenter les habitudes alimentaires des ours. Ces travaux de terrain ont également été l’occasion de compléter notre échantillonnage de fèces d’ours noirs. Notre échantillonnage, totalisant plus de 300 échantillons depuis le printemps...

>>en savoir plus

Prix Louis-Edmond Hamelin décerné à un étudiant de Caribou Ungava

Les 15 et 16 février 2018 se tenait le colloque annuel du Centre d’études nordiques, à l’Université de Sherbrooke. Lors de cet événement, Michaël Bonin, étudiant au doctorat, s’est vu décerner le Prix Louis-Edmond Hamelin d’excellence en communication orale pour la meilleure présentation orale du colloque. Félicitations à Michaël pour la présentation de son projet qui porte sur la contribution du caribou migrateur au régime alimentaire du loup gris et de l’ours noir.      (Michaël Bonin, à gauche)

>>en savoir plus